LEWISBURG, Pa. -- Bucknell varsity athletics teams captured seven conference titles in 2016-17 -- six of them coming in Patriot League-sponsored sports -- and the Bison finished in second place in another close race for the Corvias Patriot League Presidents' Cup. Bucknell has won the Cup 18 times in the 27-year history of the Patriot League and has now been the runner-up on six other occasions. 

Navy captured the 2016-17 Presidents' Cup by accumulating 151 points. Bucknell was second with 146, followed by Boston University (143), Lehigh (133.5), Army West Point (130.75), Holy Cross (80.5), Loyola Maryland (79.25), Colgate (76.5), Lafayette (58.75) and American (58). 

Bucknell also finished second in the Women's Cup standings, three points behind Boston University. Army West Point won the Men's Cup, with Navy second and Bucknell third. 

The Patriot League Presidents' Cup is awarded to the member institution with the highest cumulative point total for their Patriot League standings in sponsored men's and women's sports. Points are awarded based upon a combination of an institution's regular-season and tournament finishes in each sport. If there is no Patriot League tournament (football), points are awarded based upon final regular-season standings. If there is no regular-season competition and the champion is determined by a Patriot League Championship (cross country, golf, rowing, swimming and diving, track and field), points are awarded based upon final tournament standings. If all teams compete in the Patriot League Tournament and there is a regular-season competition (basketball, tennis), points are awarded based on an average of final regular-season standings and Tournament finish. If all teams do not participate in the Patriot League Tournament and there is a regular-season competition (baseball, field hockey, lacrosse, soccer, softball and volleyball), points are awarded based upon an average of final season standings and Tournament finish. For those teams not participating in the Tournament, the final regular-season standing will be used.

Bucknell leads all programs with 18 overall Presidents' Cup titles, followed by Navy with five and Army West Point with four. Those three schools are the only winners of the overall title in League history.

This past season, Bucknell captured Patriot League titles in women's cross country, women's soccer, men's basketball, women's basketball, women's indoor track and field, and women's outdoor track and field. In addition, the men's water polo team won the Mid-Atlantic Water Polo Conference championship and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 1985. Men's and women's basketball won league titles and made NCAA Tournament appearances in the same season for the first time in school history. Women's soccer won a school-record 16 games en route to its third NCAA trip. And the Bison women won the cross country/indoor/outdoor "Triple Crown" for the seventh time as a member of the Patriot League.

Final 2016-17 Presidents' Cup Standings:


1. Navy, 151 

2. Bucknell, 146 

3. Boston University, 143 

4. Lehigh, 133.5 

5. Army West Point, 130.75 

6. Holy Cross, 80.5 

7. Loyola Maryland, 79.25 

8. Colgate, 76.5 

9. Lafayette, 58.75 

10. American, 58 


1. Army West Point, 71 

2. Navy, 68.75 

3. Bucknell, 63.25

4. Lehigh, 57.75 

5. Boston University, 57.25 

6. Loyola Maryland, 40 

7. Colgate, 37.25 

8. Holy Cross, 34.5 

9. Lafayette, 24.25

10. American, 23


1. Boston University, 85.75 

2. Bucknell, 82.75 

3. Navy, 82.25 

4. Lehigh, 75.75 

5. Army West Point, 59.75 

6. Holy Cross, 46 

T7. Colgate, 39.25 

T7. Loyola Maryland, 39.25 

9. American, 35 

10. Lafayette, 34.5