LEWISBURG, Pa. – After being named one of 10 national finalists for the Senior CLASS Award for baseball, 2017 graduate Brett Smith earned Senior CLASS Second Team All-America recognition on Friday.  

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Smith was named one of 30 candidates for the award back in March. The list was narrowed to 10 in May and the award winner and All-America teams were then chosen by a vote of Division I baseball coaches, national baseball media and fans. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: classroom, community, character and competition.

Anthony Critelli of Holy Cross won the award, and was joined on the First Team by Adrian Chinnery of Navy, Todd Czinege of Villanova, Evan Kruczynski of East Carolina and Caleb Stayton of Ball State. Second Team honorees included Tyler Buffett of Oklahoma State, Jackson Cramer of West Virginia, Pat Krall of Clemson and Hunter Schryver of Villanova.

A Second Team All-ECAC selection, Smith graduated as one of the most decorated players in Bucknell history. A team captain, Smith is a three-time All-Patriot League performer, one of nine Bison to earn at least three all-league citations in their career, the 2014 Patriot League Rookie of the Year, and the Patriot League's inaugural Defensive Player of the Year. Smith is also a recipient of the Lee S. “Bud” Ranck Memorial Award, given for outstanding spirit and contributions to the Bucknell athletic program.

A starter in 191 consecutive games, Smith is a career .298 hitter and graduated as Bucknell's all-time leader in hits (232), at bats (778), games played (199) and games started (199), while ranking second in runs scored (156) and walks (93). His 232 hits are tied for the sixth-most in Patriot League history.

Smith contributed to 94 victories during his career and three Patriot League Tournament berths, capturing a league title in 2014.