CENTER VALLEY, Pa. – Bucknell's Chris Devlin was voted to the Men's Swimming & Diving Academic All-Patriot League Team, the league office announced Wednesday afternoon.

Devlin, who was previously honored on the All-Patriot League First Team for the fourth-straight season, captured his third Academic All-Patriot League award. The Economics major is the fourth Bison to earn Academic All-Patriot League laurels all three years he was eligible to be recognized on the 10-man team, joining Louis Behnen, Jack Robinson and Christian Treat. 

Devlin, the 2017 and 2016 Swimmer of the Meet, was previously honored as the top Patriot League Championships point scorer among the Class of 2018. He was the only member of his class to earn First Team accolades during each of his four seasons of collegiate competition.

Devlin's gold medal in this year's 200 backstroke, his third in a row, was the sixth of his collegiate career; he also won the 400 IM in 2015 and 2016 and the 100 backstroke in 2017. His six conference titles slots him in a tie for fifth in Bucknell history; he is also one of only three swimmers to capture at least four Patriot League crowns.

With his 2018 gold in the 200 backstroke (1:43.93), Devlin joined Bucknell Hall of Famer Jay Gross as the only Bison in the Patriot League era to win an event three-straight times. Gross accomplished the feat in both the 50 free and 100 butterfly from 1991 to 1993.

At the 2018 Patriot League Championships, Devlin also scored in the 100 backstroke (4th, 48.83) and the 200 IM (9th, 1:48.35). In addition, he led off three third-place relay teams: the 200 medley (1:29.78), 400 medley (3:16.51) and 800 freestyle (6:38.27). The 400 medley team broke Bucknell's school record.

Devlin ultimately totaled 44 points for the Bison, tied for the 13th-highest total among all competitors. He went on to excel at the ECAC Championships, where he was a member of two top-10 relay teams and scored in the 500 freestyle (9th, 4:28.94) and 100 butterfly (11th, 50.15). His time in the 500 freestyle was good for fourth in school history.

Devlin will graduate with Bucknell records in the 100 backstroke (47.74), 200 backstroke (1:43.14) and 400 IM (3:49.04). In addition, he was a member of four record-setting relay teams.

To be eligible for the Academic All-Patriot League Team, a student-athlete must be a starter or key player and have at least a 3.20 cumulative grade point average. One of those 10 is then recognized as the Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Freshmen are not eligible for this award.

Men's Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Zach Piedt, Navy

2018 Men's Swimming & Diving Academic All-Patriot League Team

Hudson Kay, Army West Point (So.)
Tom Ottman, Army West Point (Jr.)
Trevor Winans, Boston U. (Jr.)
Chris Devlin, Bucknell (Sr.)
Colton Hall, Colgate (So.)
Nick Whitman, Lafayette (Sr.)
Zach Tieke, Lehigh (Sr.)
Zachary Metzler, Loyola Maryland (So.)
Zach Piedt, Navy (Jr.)
William Rittenhouse, Navy (Sr.)
Michael Velazquez, Navy (Jr.)

Note: 11 recognized due to a tie in the voting