BOSTON, Mass. – Bucknell’s Anna Wills and Emily Finn were named to the All-Tournament Team at the Patriot League Field Hockey Championship, which concluded with American beating Boston University for the title on Sunday. The Bison advanced to the semifinal round, where they fell to the 14th-ranked Terriers 2-1 on a goal with 36 seconds remaining in the contest.

Wills, a senior, had a stellar defensive performance against a Boston University team that included Hester van der Laan, the 2016 Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year. The Terriers were able to put a lot of pressure on the Bison defense, but Wills led the charge as the team successfully defended 13 of 15 penalty corners.

Finn did her part in goal, making eight saves to give Bucknell a solid chance at the upset. The junior goalkeeper led the Patriot League with six shutouts this season. Finn has made the Patriot League All-Tournament Team in each of the past two seasons.

Bucknell finished 9-9 on the season. The NCAA Championship bracket was released on Sunday, and the field included five of the Bison’s losses this season. American, the Patriot League representative, hosts Kent State on Wednesday.

2016 Patriot League Field Hockey All-Tournament Team
American – Rafaela Rubas, So., M (Most Valuable Player)
American – Natalie Konerth, Sr., F
American – Maura Jacobs, So., GK
American – Rachel Stefano, So., D
Boston University – Hester van der Laan, Sr., M
Boston University – Amanda Cassera, Sr., F
Boston University – Taylor Blood, Sr., F
Bucknell – Emily Finn, Jr., GK
Bucknell – Anna Wills, Sr., D
Holy Cross – Maureen Connolly, Jr., F
Holy Cross – Marcia LaPlante, Fr., GK