IRVING, Texas – Bucknell’s Rick Mottram was chosen as one of five 2017 NFF Chapter Scholar-Athletes, the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame announced Wednesday morning.

The freshman linebacker from Cream Ridge, N.J. emerged as the most outstanding scholar-athlete from the East Region. He was nominated by the NFF Delaware Valley (N.J.) Chapter. 

Mottram will travel to New York City for the NFF Chapter Awards Luncheon, presented by Under Armour and held at the New York Hilton Midtown, on Tuesday, Dec. 5. Following the luncheon, he will attend the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, also at the New York Hilton Midtown, as an honored guest.

“It’s a privilege to coach a young man like Rick Mottram,” said Bison head coach Joe Susan. “Rick is driven to excel in everything he does. He possesses a work ethic that will lead to his success in the classroom and on the field and has leadership qualities that will benefit him and our team as he matures in our program. He’s someone who leads by example. It’s a tribute to his family, his high school and his high school athletic program that he is recognized with this award.”

A First Team All-State selection and two-time Trenton Times Defensive Player of the Year, Mottram left Allentown High School (N.J.) as the program leader with 435 career tackles. He helped lead the Redbirds to the 2016 Central Jersey Group IV state title and three West Jersey Football League crowns.

The other NFF Chapter Scholar-Athletes are Notre Dame’s John Mahoney (Valley H.S. in West De Moines, Iowa), Williams College’s Bobby Maimaron (Duxbury H.S. in Duxbury, Mass.), San Diego’s Brandon Micale (Pomona H.S. in Arvada, Colo.) and Columbia’s Blake Wooden (American Heritage School in Plantation, Fla.). They emerged from a field of 35 finalists, which was announced on Sept. 13

“The NFF Chapter Scholar-Athlete Awards showcase first-class high school football players from across the country,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell in a statement. “This year’s honorees have set the standard for accomplishment on the field, in the classroom and in the community. We are truly proud to honor their success in December.”

First bestowed in 1991, the NFF Chapter Scholar-Athlete Awards have become one of the most prestigious high school honors in the country. Criteria for the award include academic achievement, athletic accolades and community involvement.

Past winners of this award include Andrew Luck (2008, current Indianapolis Colts quarterback), Andrew Rodriquez (2008, 2011 William V. Campbell Trophy® recipient) and Todd Helton (1992, retired Colorado Rockies first baseman). Five NFF Chapter Scholar-Athletes have gone on to win NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, for their collegiate achievements.