LEWISBURG, Pa. – Bucknell defensive lineman Abdullah Anderson added All-American accolades to his already impressive resume Tuesday afternoon when he was announced as a 2017 Associated Press FCS Second Team All-American.

The 2017 Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year and a four-time All-Patriot League selection, Anderson is Bucknell's 57th All-American.

Anderson totaled 42 tackles (20 solo), nine tackles for a loss, 2.5 sacks, two fumble recoveries, one interception and one blocked extra point this season. During his stalwart career, he started 43 games, recording 171 tackles (96 solo), 33.5 tackles for a loss, 15.5 sacks and four blocked kicks. Three of his four blocked kicks were field goals; he will graduate tied for first in school history with Josh Eden (2006-07, 2010-11) in this statistical category.

Anderson was previously recognized on the 2017, 2016 and 2015 All-Patriot League First Teams and the 2014 Second Team. He became the third Bison to garner four All-Patriot League citations in his career, joining Rich Lemon (1993-96) and Julién Davenport (2013-16). Also a three-time Preseason All-Patriot League selection, Anderson was named to the 2017 STATS Preseason All-America Third Team and the 2018 Reese's Senior Bowl Watch List.

With Anderson's recognition, Bucknell has boasted an AP All-American four seasons in a row. Linebacker Evan Byers (2014, 2nd), safety Clayton Ewell (2015, 3rd) and offensive lineman Davenport (2016, 1st) were previously honored by the AP. Anderson is the first defensive lineman to capture this award since Sean Conover was selected to the 2004 second team.

In addition to Anderson, four other Patriot League student-athletes were among the 2017 honorees: Lehigh's Dominick Bragalone (1st), Lafayette's Brandon Bryant (2nd) and Phillip Parham (2nd) and Colgate's Nick Wheeler (3rd).


Quarterback – Chris Streveler, senior, South Dakota.
Running backs – Dominick Bragalone, junior, Lehigh; Josh Mack, sophomore, Maine.
Linemen – Brandon Parker, senior, North Carolina A&T; Austin Kuhnert, senior, North Dakota State; Jacob Ohnesorge, senior, South Dakota State; Aaron Stinnie, senior, James Madison; Justin Lea, senior, Jacksonville State.
Tight end – Dallas Goedert, senior, South Dakota State.
Receivers – Keelan Doss, junior, UC Davis; Davion Davis, junior, Sam Houston State.
All-purpose player – John Santiago, junior, North Dakota.
Kicker – Trey Tuttle, freshman, Weber State.

Linemen – Andrew Ankrah, senior, James Madison; Jonathan Petersen, senior, San Diego; Darius Jackson, senior, Jacksonville State; P.J. Hall, senior, Sam Houston State.
Linebackers – Brett Taylor, senior, Western Illinois; Darius Leonard, senor, South Carolina State; Nick DeLuca, senior, North Dakota State.
Backs – Mike Basile, senior, Monmouth; George Odum, senior, Central Arkansas; Taron Johnson, senior, Weber State; Jordan Brown, senior, James Madison.
Punter – Joe Zema, senior, Incarnate Word.


Quarterback – Jeremiah Briscoe, senior, Sam Houston State.
Running backs – Roc Thomas, senior, Jacksonville State; Zane Dudek, freshman, Yale.
Linemen – Stetson Dagel, senior, South Dakota; John Cook, junior, Central Arkansas; Timon Parris, senior, Stony Brook; Ben Huss, senior, Duquesne; Matthew Schmidt, senior, Furman.
Tight end – Andrew Vollert, senior, Weber State.
Receivers – Neil O’Connor, junior, New Hampshire; Jaelon Acklin, senior, Western Illinois.
All-purpose player – Elijah Marks, senior, Northern Arizona.
Kicker – Gunnar Raborn, junior, McNeese State.

Linemen – Anthony Ellis, senior, Charleston Southern; Ahmad Gooden, junior, Samford; Jaison Williams, sophomore, Austin Peay; Abdullah Anderson, senior, Bucknell.
Linebackers – Matthew Oplinger, senior, Yale; Jared Farley, senior, Northern Iowa; Brandon Bryant, senior, Lafayette.
Backs – Marlon Bridges, sophomore, Jacksonville State; Phillip Parham, senior, senior, Lafayette; Davontae Harris, senior, Illinois State; Rashad Robinson, junior, James Madison.
Punter – Ian Berryman, junior, Western Carolina.


Quarterback – Chandler Burks, junior, Kennesaw State.
Running backs – De’Lance Turner, senior, Alcorn State; Detrez Newsome, senior, Western Carolina.
Linemen – Skyler Phillips, senior, Idaho State; Zach Mitchler, junior, Kennesaw State; Alex Thompson, senior, Monmouth; Iosua Opeta, junior, Weber State; Ross Demmel, junior, Wofford.
Tight end – Ross Dwelley, senior, San Diego.
Receivers – Nathan Stewart, sophomore, Sam Houston State; Justin Watson, senior, Penn.
All-purpose player – Khris Gardin, senior, North Carolina A&T.
Kicker – Lorran Fonseca, junior, Nicholls State.

Linemen – Darin Greenfield, sophomore, South Dakota; Chris Terrell, sophomore, Central Arkansas; Ben Sorensen, senior, Sacramento State; Nick Wheeler, sophomore, Colgate.
Linebackers – Garrett Dolan, senior, Houston Baptist; Thomas Costigan, junior, Bryant; Christian Rozeboom, sophomore, South Dakota State.
Backs – Elijah Campbell, sophomore, Northern Iowa; Franklin McCain III, redshirt freshman, North Carolina A&T; Tremon Smith, senior, Central Arkansas; Davanta Reynolds, junior, North Carolina Central.
Punter – Austin Barnard, senior, Samford.