IRVING, Texas – Seven Bucknell football seniors became members of the National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society, the organization announced Wednesday morning.

John Burdick, Craig Cassidy, Trevor Fennimore, Jack Horan, Trey Johnson, Andrew Podbielski and Mark Pyles were the Bison honored by the Hampshire Honor Society this year. During their time in Lewisburg, they combined for a 3.49 cumulative GPA, five Academic All-Patriot League nods, four CoSIDA Academic All-District 2 awards and 22 Patriot League Academic Honor Roll laurels.

To qualify for membership in the Hampshire Honor Society, a student-athlete must have maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout his college career. An all-time high 1,251 players from a record-tying 302 schools qualified for membership in 2018, the society's 12th year.

This has been a banner year for the Bucknell football program academically. Earlier this year, the Bison placed a record 48 student-athletes on the 2017 Patriot League Academic Honor Roll. The total, which represented nearly 57 percent of the team's roster, led the Patriot League by 10. The Bison also set a new standard for the fifth season in a row, edging their 2016 total by two.

In addition, a league-best four Bison, Horan, Podbielski, Pyles and junior Alex Pechin, were voted to the Academic All-Patriot League Team while two, Horan and Pyles, were recognized as CoSIDA Academic All-District 2 selections. Pyles was also one two Patriot League student-athletes named a semifinalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy®, often referred to as the "Academic Heisman," and joined Pechin, the Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year, on the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association Academic All-Star Team.

2018 NFF Hampshire Honor Society Members
John Burdick, K, Economics*
Craig Cassidy, DE, Economics*
Trevor Fennimore, DE, Economics*
Jack Horan, WR, Accounting & Financial Management*^
Trey Johnson, CB, Psychology*
Andrew Podbielski, TE, Environmental Studies*^
Mark Pyles, LB, Economics*^

* Bucknell Dean's List; ^ 2017 Academic All-Patriot League