LEWISBURG, Pa. – Bucknell junior pitcher Connor Van Hoose and senior outfielder Brett Smith earned All-ECAC Second Team honors, announced by the conference on Wednesday. Unanimous First Team All-Patriot League honorees, Van Hoose and Smith earn All-ECAC recognition for the first time in their careers.

Van Hoose was Bucknell's No. 1 starter this season, going 6-6 on the mound, leading the pitching staff in ERA (2.28), innings pitched (83.0) and strikeouts (97). His 2.28 ERA and 97 strikeouts led the Patriot League, while his strikeout total was the second-most in a single season in Bison history. Van Hoose tossed four complete games in 2017, including a three-hitter in game one of the Patriot League Semifinal Series against regular season champion Navy.

Smith earning All-ECAC honors adds to the list of accomplishments achieved by the outfielder in his four years as a Bison. A Senior CLASS Award Finalist, Smith is a three-time All-Patriot League selection, one of nine Bison to earn at least three all-league citations in their career, the 2014 Patriot League Rookie of the Year, and the Patriot League's inaugural Defensive Player of the Year. Smith is also a recipient of the Lee S. “Bud” Ranck Memorial Award, presented for outstanding spirit and contributions to the Bucknell athletic program.

Smith is coming off another great season, starting all 49 games in center field. A team captain, Smith hit .315 with 63 hits, 22 extra-base hits, including a team-best 17 doubles, 26 RBIs, and a team-high 37 runs scored, all of which ranked among the top of the Patriot League. Smith had 17 multi-hit outings and finished the year on a seven-game hitting streak.

A starter in 191 consecutive games, Smith is a career .298 hitter and leaves Bucknell as the program's all-time leader in hits (232), at bats (778), games played (199) and games started (199), while ranking second in runs scored (156) and walks (93). His 232 hits are tied for the sixth-most in Patriot League history.

Bucknell finished the year 21-28, falling to Holy Cross in the Patriot League Championship Series, its first appearance since 2014.