LEWISBURG, Pa. – Bucknell senior Nana Foulland is one of 21 candidates for the 2018 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced on Thursday. This will be the fourth year the award has been presented to one of the top frontcourt players in the nation.

Foulland is in some great company on the Karl Malone Award watch list, where he joins players from schools such as Duke, Kentucky, Michigan, Notre Dame, Stanford, Texas, Cincinnati and more. The list will be narrowed down to 10 candidates in mid-February, and then five finalists will be presented to Karl Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee in March. The winner will be announced at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show, presented by Wendy’s, in Los Angeles on Apr. 6, 2018.

Previous winners were Baylor’s Johnathan Motley in 2017, Iowa State’s Georges Niang in 2016, and Louisville’s Montrezl Harrell in 2015.

Foulland is the reigning Patriot League Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year. He averaged 15.0 points, 7.8 rebounds and 2.1 blocked shots per game last season. Foulland led the Patriot League and ranked 36th nationally in blocks, and he also ranked second in the league in rebounding and fourth in scoring. An NABC All-District 13 First Team selection, Foulland had a huge postseason performance for the Bison. He had 18 points in the Patriot League semifinals against Navy, 17 in the championship game win over Lehigh, and 18 points, seven rebounds and three blocks in the NCAA Tournament against West Virginia. Foulland made 25 of 37 (.676) shots from the field in four postseason games. His 63.0 field-goal percentage for the full season was third-best in school history.

Bucknell has captured six of the last seven outright Patriot League regular-season titles, and the Bison made their seventh NCAA Tournament appearance last season, falling 86-80 to West Virginia in the first round. Foulland is one of five returning starters from last year’s squad that finished 26-9 overall and 15-3 in the Patriot League.

2018 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates

DeAndre Ayton                           Arizona

Nana Foulland                             Bucknell

Gary Clark Jr.                                Cincinnati

Marvin Bagley III                         Duke

Wendell Carter Jr.                      Duke

Nick Mayo                                     Eastern Kentucky

Yante Maten                                Georgia

Rokas Gustys                               Hofstra

PJ Washington                            Kentucky

Moritz Wagner                            Michigan

Jordan Murphy                           Minnesota

Alize Johnson                              Missouri State

Bonzie Colson                              Notre Dame

Mike Daum                                   South Dakota State

Reid Travis                                    Stanford

Obi Enechionyia                          Temple

Dylan Osetkowski                      Texas

Robert Williams                           Texas A&M

Zach Smith                                    Texas Tech

William Lee                                  UAB

Bennie Boatwright                       USC