LEWISBURG, Pa. – Bucknell senior Claire DeBoer was voted unanimously as the 2016-17 Patriot League Player of the Year, as announced by the League office on Friday. She becomes the third Bison in program history to garner the accolade and first in nine seasons.

The Bison took home two major awards as Aaron Roussell was named the Coach of the Year for the second straight season after leading the Bison to a 24-5 record and the Patriot League regular season title with a 16-2 mark in the conference. DeBoer also landed a spot on the All-Patriot League First Team, while sophomore Kaitlyn Slagus was a Second Team selection and senior Sune Swart picked up Third Team recognition.

DeBoer’s Player of the Year honor, the first for Bucknell since Hope Foster won the award in 2007, further solidifies her as one of the best players in program history. She is a three-time All-Patriot League honoree, including First Team recognition in each of the past two seasons, and was the league’s 2014 Rookie of the Year. Her play and leadership have helped the Bison post back-to-back regular season titles in the conference, an unprecedented accomplishment for the program.

DeBoer, who has adapted to a guard/forward hybrid role this season depending on the personnel on the court, ranks second in the Patriot League in scoring at 16.0 points per game, fifth in rebounding at 7.3 per game, and second in field goal percentage (.486). For her career, she ranks third in program history with 1,616 points, fifth with 868 rebounds, and ninth with 283 assists. DeBoer is the only player in school history that currently ranks in the top 10 in all three categories, and is the only Bucknell player with at least 1,600 points and 800 rebounds during her career.

Slagus, the Rookie of the Year in the conference last season, was voted to the Second Team after averaging 12.9 points and 9.3 rebounds. Her rebound average currently ranks second in the Patriot League. Slagus has been a double-double machine this season. She has 12 doubles-doubles, 11 of which came in Bison wins. The sophomore scored a career-high 22 points, both as part of double-doubles, in wins over Army West Point and NJIT. A starter in all 28 games, the biggest improvement for Slagus this season has been on the boards. She has 270, a 144 rebound improvement from her rookie season, and still has postseason play to add to that total.

Swart made the Third Team in just her first year as a starter, one year after being one of the most valuable players off the bench in the Patriot League. The senior opened the season with back-to-back 25-point games in wins over Binghamton and Saint Joseph’s, and has gone on to average 10.9 points and 6.2 rebounds. Swart has at least five rebounds in 20 of the team’s 29 games, including a season-high 10 in wins over Saint Joseph’s and NJIT. Often described by Roussell as the most improved player he has seen in his 13 years as a head coach, Swart has career-highs in points (306), rebounds (173), and assists (37), while playing 26.6 minutes per game.

Over the past two seasons, Roussell has guided Bucknell to the two highest win totals in program history. The Bison set a school record for wins with a 25-8 mark last season and can surpass that total with a successful run in the conference tournament this year. The team also set a program record with a 12-game winning streak this season.

Bucknell’s regular season title earned it the top seed in the upcoming Patriot League Tournament, where it received a bye into the quarterfinal round. The Bison will host the winner of #8 Loyola and #9 Lehigh on Monday at 6 p.m. They have won 25 straight games at Sojka Pavilion, the third-longest active streak in the nation.

2016-17 Women’s Basketball All-Patriot League Team and Major Awards
Player of the Year: Claire DeBoer, Bucknell (Sr., F)*
Defensive Player of the Year: Aliyah Murray, Army West Point (Jr., G)
Rookie of the Year: Lauren Manis, Holy Cross (Fr., F)
Coach of the Year: Aaron Roussell, Bucknell 


First Team
Madison Hovren, Army West Point (So., F)*
Sophie Beaudry, Boston University (Jr., C)
Claire DeBoer, Bucknell (Sr., F)*
Bri Betz-White, Loyola Maryland (Jr., G)
Sarita Condie, Navy (Sr., G)


 Second Team
Emily Kinneston, American (Jr., G)
Sarah Hope, Boston University (Sr., G)
Kaitlyn Slagus, Bucknell (So., F)
Katie Curtis, Colgate (Sr., G)
Lauren Manis, Holy Cross (Fr., F)


 Third Team
Cecily Carl, American (So., F)
Aliyah Murray, Army West Point (Jr., G)
Sune Swart, Bucknell (Sr., F)
Quinci Mann, Lehigh (Jr., G)
Taylor Dunham, Navy (Jr., G)


 All-Defensive Team^
Emily Kinneston, American (Jr., G)
Janae McNeal, Army West Point (Jr., G)
Aliyah Murray, Army West Point (Jr., G)*
Sophie Beaudry, Boston University (Jr., C)
Stephanie Karcz, Loyola Maryland (Fr., G)
Justice Swett, Navy (Sr., G)
^There are six on the All-Defensive Team due to a tie in the voting

 All-Rookie Team
Nia Irving, Boston University (Fr., F)
Rachel Thompson, Colgate (Fr., G)
Lauren Manis, Holy Cross (Fr., F)*
Olivia Gumbs, Lafayette (Fr., F)*
Stephanie Karcz, Loyola Maryland (Fr., G)*
Only freshmen in their first academic year are eligible for the Patriot League All-Rookie Team.

*Unanimous selection