NEW YORK – Bucknell's Will Sands was named one of 25 nominees for the 2018 Tewaaraton Award, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced Thursday afternoon.

Sands is the first Bison since 2012 to be listed among the top 25 nominees for this prestigious award, which honors the top male and female collegiate lacrosse players in the United States. The two winners are selected by a committee made up of premier coaches appointed by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

In 2018, Sands has put together one of the finest offensive seasons in Bucknell's 50-year history. He currently owns 75 points on 20 goals and a school-record 55 assists. One of only four Bison to eclipse the 70-point threshold in a single campaign, he is the national leader in assists and ranks fifth in points. The senior attacker has registered at least one point in all 15 of Bucknell's games, notching at least five in six. He topped out at 10 points (3g-7a) against Boston University on March 17, which was one shy of the Bison single-game record.

Over the course of the campaign, Sands has reached a number of career milestones. He became the third Bison to eclipse the 200-point plateau, the fifth to register at least 100 assists and the sixth to net his 100th career goal. His career total of 243 points, which came on 102 goals and a school-record 141 assists, is fifth among active Division I players. It is also second in Bucknell's 50-year history.

Sands was previously recognized on the 2018 and 2017 All-Patriot League First and Academic Teams and the 2016 All-Patriot League Second and Tournament Teams. A two-time member of the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, he was honored as a 2018 Midseason Third Team All-American by Inside Lacrosse.

Sands is one of three Patriot League players among the 25 Tewaaraton Award nominees, joining Loyola's Foster Huggins and Pat Spencer. Before Sands, Billy Eisenreich was the last Bison to make the cut from the top 50 to the top 25. In 2012, his senior season, he registered 66 points on 34 goals and 32 assists. His point total is tied for fifth in school history, and he is one of only three Bison who recorded at least 30 goals and 30 assists in the same season.

Sands's Bison, who boast an 11-4 (7-1 Patriot League) record and shared the Patriot League regular-season title with Loyola and Navy, are currently awaiting their NCAA Tournament fate. In 2018, they reached the double digits in victories for the sixth time in Frank Fedorjaka's tenure as head coach and went an impressive 5-1 against nationally ranked opponents during the regular season. Most notably, they knocked off then No. 3 Yale (9-8 OT) and then No. 6 Loyola (12-11) on the road. They rose as high as 10th in both the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association Coaches' Poll and the Inside Lacrosse Maverik Media Listing, their highest national ranking since the 2013 campaign.

2018 Tewaaraton Nominees:
Dox Aitken, Virginia - So., Midfield
Gerard Arceri, Penn State - So., Faceoff
Trevor Baptiste, Denver - Sr., Faceoff
Jared Bernhardt, Maryland - So., Attack
Dan Bucaro, Georgetown - Jr., Attack
Jack Concannon, Hofstra - Sr., Goalie
Christian Cuccinello, Villanova - Sr., Attack
Connor Fields, Albany - Sr., Attack
Zach Goodrich, Towson - Jr., Midfield
Justin Guterding, Duke - Sr., Attack
Jules Heningburg, Rutgers - Sr., Attack
Foster Huggins, Loyola - Sr., Defense
TD Ierlan, Albany - So., Faceoff
Connor Kelly, Maryland - Sr., Midfield
Michael Kraus, Virginia - So., Attack
Ian Mackay, Vermont - Sr., Midfield
Ben Randall, Ohio State - Sr., Defense
Ben Reeves, Yale - Sr., Attack
Will Sands, Bucknell - Sr., Attack
John Sexton, Notre Dame - Sr., Long Stick Midfield
Michael Sowers, Princeton - So., Attack
Pat Spencer, Loyola - Jr., Attack
Jeff Teat, Cornell - So., Attack
Joel Tinney, Hopkins - Sr., Midfield
Ethan Walker, Denver - So., Attack