LEWISBURG, Pa. – The Bucknell men’s lacrosse team secured four All-Patriot League citations, with junior attackman Will Sands and junior midfielder Sean O'Brien earning First Team honors, and junior defenseman Matt Gilray and sophomore goalie Christian Klipstein named to the Second Team.

Sands recorded seven points with two goals and five assists in a season-opening win over Delaware, and he never stopped scoring. He recorded multiple points in every game this season, including four or more in the first 11 games of the campaign, and finished with 20 goals and 42 assists for 62 points. Of his 20 goals, none were bigger than his overtime tally against nationally ranked Loyola, which came as part of another seven-point afternoon.  

Sands ranks second in the Patriot League and third nationally in assists, and his point total is 10th-best nationally. His assist total ranks second in school history, behind David Dickson’s record 48 in 2013. The 62 points are eighth-most in a season at Bucknell, one spot behind Sands’ 64 points from 2016. He will enter his senior year fifth on the Bucknell career assists chart with 86 and seventh in total points with 168.

One of 50 college players named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, Sands is now a two-time All-Patriot League honoree after earning a Second Team nod as a sophomore. He was a unanimous First Team choice this season.

O’Brien had a breakout junior season after earning a promotion to the first midfield line, and he secured his first career all-conference honor. He entered the season with 17 career goals, then tossed in 28 this year to rank second on the team and fourth in the Patriot League. O’Brien’s 109 shot attempts are the most in the league, and he is also tied for the league lead with teammate Connor O’Hara with four man-up goals.

O’Brien got out to a terrific start in 2017, with a career-high six goals and an assist in a 14-13 win over Delaware. He proceeded to record at least one point in every game, including a four-goal performance against Fairfield and hat tricks against Colgate and Holy Cross.

Gilray and Klipstein both garnered Second Team accolades for the second year in a row. One of the league’s most versatile players, Gilray played close defense, defensive midfield and took faceoff wings for the Bison. He ranked second on the team and 12th in the league with 48 ground balls, and he led the squad with 17 caused turnovers.

Gilray recorded a career-high 10 ground balls to go with four caused turnovers against Fairfield early in the season, and he closed out the campaign with seven ground balls and three caused turnovers at Lehigh.

Klipstein was a two-time Patriot League Goalie of the Week in 2017, bringing his career total to five in two seasons. Klipstein recorded double-figure saves 10 times this season, with a high of 16 in a 12-6 win over nationally ranked Boston University. He also had 15 saves with only eight goals against in a 9-8 overtime win over Loyola.

Klipstein finished the year with a .513 save percentage, a 10.41 goals-against average, and 10.8 saves per game.

Loyola sophomore Pat Spencer was named Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year, with Chris Fennell of Navy selected as Defensive Player of the Year. Griffin Brown of Colgate is the Rookie of the Year, Army’s Dan Grabher is the Faceoff Specialist of the Year, and Boston University picked up two major awards with Christian Carson-Banister named Goalkeeper of the Year and Ryan Polley Coach of the Year.   

Bucknell finished the season 5-8 overall and 3-5 in the Patriot League.

2017 Men’s Lacrosse All-Patriot League and Major Awards

Offensive Player of the Year – Pat Spencer, Loyola Maryland*

Defensive Player of the Year – Chris Fennell, Navy

Faceoff Specialist of the Year – Dan Grabher, Army West Point

Goalkeeper of the Year – Christian Carson-Banister, Boston University*

Rookie of the Year – Griffin Brown, Colgate

The William Lawson Coach of the Year – Ryan Polley, Boston University


First Team

Cole Johnson, Army West Point, Sr., A*

Cal Dearth, Boston University, Sr., A*

Will Sands, Bucknell, Jr., A*

Pat Spencer, Loyola Maryland, Fr., A*

David Symmes, Army West Point, Jr., M

Sean O’Brien, Bucknell, Jr., M

Brian Sherlock, Loyola Maryland, Sr., M

Greyson Torain, Navy, So., M*

Johnny Surdick, Army West Point, So., D

Dominick Calisto, Boston University, Sr., D

Craig Chick, Lehigh, So., D

Chris Fennell, Navy, Sr., D*

Dan Grabher, Army West Point, Sr., FO

Matt Rees, Navy, Sr., LSM

Christian Carson-Banister, Boston University, Sr., GK*

* Denotes unanimous selection

Second Team

Jack Wilson, Boston University, Jr., A

Andrew Pettit, Lehigh, So., A

Alex McGovern, Loyola Maryland, So., A

Brendan Homire, Boston University, Jr., M

Kevin Lux, Holy Cross, Sr., M

Romar Dennis, Loyola Maryland, Sr., M

Reaves Klipstein, Army West Point, Sr., D

Matt Gilray, Bucknell, Jr., D

Eddie Bouhall, Lehigh, Sr., D

Jack Carrigan, Loyola Maryland, Sr., D

Brady Dove, Navy, Sr., FO

Greg Wozniak, Boston University, Sr., LSM

Brain Begley, Loyola Maryland, Jr., SSDM

Christian Klipstein, Bucknell, So., GK

Brandon Burke, Colgate, Sr., GK