LEWISBURG, Pa. -- Bucknell director of athletics and recreation John Hardt has been selected to chair the NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee. Hardt, who has served on the committee for the last three years, will begin his term as committee chair on Sept. 1.

"It is a tremendous honor to serve in this leadership role in shaping the future of NCAA Division I men's lacrosse. The Men's Lacrosse Committee is comprised of a dedicated group of professionals from the coaching and administrative ranks who are extremely passionate about the sport and have a sincere interest in its continued positive growth," said Hardt. "I am both humbled and excited to work alongside them as committee chair."

Hardt succeeds Fairfield director of athletics Eugene Doris as committee chair. Rounding out the committee in 2017-18 will be Brown University AD Jack Hayes, Hofstra deputy AD Dino Mattessich, Furman head coach Richie Meade, and Marquette head coach Joe Amplo. 

Now in his 18th year as AD at Bucknell, Hardt has long been an active leader in the NCAA’s governance and committee structure. In 2012 he received a prestigious appointment to the NCAA Division I Leadership Council. In addition to his post as Division I Men’s Lacrosse Committee Chair, he will begin serving on the Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Executive Committee this year as well. 

In 2007, Hardt was chair of the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision Committee, and he has also served on the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee, the NCAA Division I Committee on Athletics Certification, the NCAA Division 1 Football Issues Committee, the Walter Byers Scholarship Committee, and the NCAA Post-Graduate Scholarship Committee. Also a former member of the ECAC Finance Committee, he has served as the chair of the Patriot League Administrative Committee and a member of the Patriot League Executive Committee.

Hardt's passion for the sport of lacrosse was rooted during his four-year professional stint as an athletics administrator at Syracuse, where he worked closely with the Orange's nationally dominant lacrosse program. The Orange won two national championships during Hardt's tenure in Syracuse. At that time he was also an active liaison with the Div. 1 Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association.

During Hardt’s tenure at Bucknell, he has seen the Bison men’s lacrosse program develop into an annual top-20 team and Patriot League title contender. The team is 75-36 in league play since 2001 and has made a pair of NCAA appearances during that period. In 2011, the Bison locked up with Virginia in a classic NCAA Tournament game, with the Cavaliers prevailing 13-12 in overtime en route to a national title. 

Hardt also serves as the Patriot League's designated administrative liaison to the men's lacrosse coaches. This is his second stint serving in this role during his time at Bucknell.  In addition, he has actively consulted and advised several NCAA Division 1 schools as they planned to launch new varsity lacrosse programs.

Hardt is not the first Bucknell representative on the NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Committee. Deputy Athletic Director Tim Pavlechko served on the committee from 2006-10, including two-years of service as chairman.

At Bucknell, Hardt presides over a successful 27-sport Division I athletics program that places an emphasis on the scholar-athlete model. Bucknell annually ranks among the national leaders in student-athlete graduation rate and APR scores, and it has captured the Patriot League Presidents’ Cup 18 times since the league’s inception in 1990. Hardt received the Gen. Robert R. Neyland Outstanding Athletic Director Award at the 2008 All-American Football Foundation Banquet of Champions. He has overseen a major facilities overhaul during his tenure at Bucknell and has managed annual growth in athletics fundraising support through the Bison Club.

Bucknell is a highly-selective, privately endowed liberal arts institution with an enrollment of approximately 3,600 undergraduate students. Bucknell competes in NCAA Division I as a member of the Patriot League and has full membership along with American, Army, Boston University, Colgate, Holy Cross, Lafayette, Lehigh, Loyola Maryland and Navy.