NEW YORK – Bucknell's Will Sands was named to the 2018 Tewaaraton Watch List, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced Thursday night at its fundraiser.

Sands, who was previously recognized on the 2017 list, was one of 50 men's lacrosse players to make this year's iteration. The award, which honors the top male and female collegiate lacrosse players in the United States, is selected by a committee made up of premier coaches appointed by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Sands was one of seven Patriot League players named to the 2018 Tewaaraton Watch List, joining Army West Point's John Surdick and David Symmes, Boston University's Jack Wilson, Loyola's Pat Spencer and Navy's Casey Rees and Greyson Torain.

This season, Sands is off to a blistering start with 27 points (10g-17a) in four games, an average of 6.75 good for fourth in the Division I ranks. The senior also stands second in the NCAA in both assists and points.

Sands has captured three of the four Patriot League Offensive Player of the Week awards given out in 2018. A 2018 Preseason All-Patriot League selection, he enters Saturday's game needing just five points to become the third Bison to record 200 over the course of his career. When he reaches the milestone, he will join elite company in Bucknell Athletics Hall of Fame members Chris Cara (2002-05, 249 points) and Pete von Hoffmann (1976-79, 220 points).

During the Bison's upset of then No. 18/20 Colgate, Sands reached three career milestones. Most notably, he became only the fifth Bison to register 100 assists in his career; he now boasts 103. He also moved to fourth in school history in career points (195) and entered a tie for 10th in career goals (92).

Sands is already one of the most decorated Bison lacrosse players, garnering All-Patriot League First Team laurels in 2017 and Second Team and Tournament Team accolades in 2016.

Sands and the No. 20 Bison (3-1, 1-0 Patriot League) are set to host Navy on Saturday at 1 p.m.

2018 Tewaaraton Watch List
Dox Aitken, Virginia - So., Midfield
Dylan Alderman, Hofstra - Sr., Midfield
Grant Ament, Penn State - Jr., Attack
Trevor Baptiste, Denver - Sr., Faceoff
Jared Bernhardt, Maryland - Soph., Attack
Brendan Bomberry, Syracuse  - Sr., Attack
Tate Boyce, Providence - Jr., Goalie
Dan Bucaro, Georgetown - Jr., Attack
Morgan Cheek, Harvard - Sr., Attack
Chris Cloutier, North Carolina - Sr., Attack
Jack Concannon, Hofstra - Sr., Goalie
Ryan Conrad, Virginia - Jr., Midfield
Brian Corrigan, Marist - R-Sr., Goalie
Bryan Costabile, Notre Dame - So., Midfield
Christian Cuccinello, Villanova - Sr., Attack
Connor Fields, Albany - Sr., Attack
Zach Goodrich, Towson - Jr., Midfield
Phil Goss, Brown - So., Goalie
Justin Guterding, Duke - Sr., Attack
Jules Heningburg, Rutgers - Sr., Attack
TD Ierlan, Albany - So., Faceoff
Chris Keating, Yale - Sr., Defense
Connor Keating, Penn - Sr., Long Stick Midfield
Connor Kelly, Maryland - Sr., Midfield
Tom Kennedy, Bryant - Sr., Midfield
Tre Leclaire, Ohio State - So., Attack
Ian Mackay, Vermont - Sr., Midfield
Simon Mathias, Penn - Jr., Attack
Sean Mayle, Denver - Sr., Long Stick Midfield
Nick Mellen, Syracuse - R-So., Defense
Brent Noseworthy, Michigan - Jr., Midfield
Isaac Paparo, UMass- Jr., Defense
Ben Randall, Ohio State - Sr., Defense
Casey Rees, Navy - Sr., Midfield
Ryland Rees, Stony Brook - Jr., Defense
Ben Reeves, Yale - Sr., Attack
Will Sands, Bucknell - Sr., Attack
John Sexton, Notre Dame - Sr., Long Stick Midfield
Nate Solomon, Syracuse - Jr., Attack
Michael Sowers, Princeton - So., Attack
Pat Spencer, Loyola - Jr., Attack
John Surdick, Army - Jr., Defense
David Symmes, Army - Sr., Midfield
Jeff Teat, Cornell - So., Attack
Joel Tinney, Hopkins - Sr., Midfield
Greyson Torain, Navy - Jr., Midfield
Kyle Tucker, Salisbury - Sr., Defense
Cade Van Raaphorst, Duke - Jr., Defense
Ethan Walker, Denver - So., Attack
Jack Wilson, Boston University - Sr., Attack