LEWISBURG, Pa. – Bucknell freshmen Menley Denham (Winnetka, Ill./New Trier) and Katie Carroll (Chicago, Ill./Loyola Academy) were named to the All-Patriot League Women’s Rowing Team on Wednesday. Denham earned a spot on the First Team, while Carroll was a Second Team honoree. They helped the Bison earn a third-place finish in the team standings at last week’s Patriot League Championship.

Denham was a member of the varsity eight that won its heat and then placed fourth in the final. Denham rowed in the eight seat.

Carroll also rowed in the stroke seat, but she was positioned in the Bison second varsity eight, which was victorious in both its heat and the finals race. It marked the first time Bucknell’s second varsity eight won gold at the Patriot League Championship since 2011.

Bucknell, which has finished in the top three of the team standings at the Patriot League Championship every year since 2006, had its first freshman named to the All-Patriot League Teams since Amanda Chikowski was a First Team choice in 2012.

Navy won the team title last week, but Boston U. captured the varsity eight race, earning it both Boat of the Year and Coach of the Year (Stacey Rippetoe) honors.

2016 All-Patriot League Rowing
Patriot League Coach of the Year: Stacey Rippetoe, Boston University
Patriot League Boat of the Year: Boston University Varsity Eight

First Team
Killian Ballard, Boston U., Sr.
Bridget Behmke, Boston U., Sr.
Jo MacCune, Boston U., Sr.
Marlaina Miller, Boston U., Jr.
Menley Denham, Bucknell, Fr.
Christina Johnson, Georgetown, Jr.
Larking Sayre, MIT, Jr.
Julia Arthur, Navy, Jr.
Miranda Kosmides, Navy, Jr.

Second Team
Dominique Baker, Boston U., Sr.
Emily Lerhe, Boston U., Sr.
Annalise Routenberg, Boston U., Jr.
Katie Carroll, Bucknell, Fr.
Sabrina Gosman, Georgetown, Jr.
Bridgid Carey, Holy Cross, Sr.
Ellie Brewer, MIT, Fr.
Maeve Broeg, Navy, So.
Alexandria Switzer, Navy, Sr.